Exclusive Interview w/ Teenear

Teenear is a new and fresh artist that is taking the R&B world by storm with her latest release and visual ‘Last Night’. She signed with Slip ‘n’ Slide Records and has been making much needed music for the culture. As an R&B fan I love when new artists show their talent and creativity, especially for the younger generation. I was able to ask her more in depth about her start in the business and her plans to take things to the next level.

Q. When did you first get introduced to music?

Music has been a part of my life since I was a little girl, my first time performing was when I was five years old. It’s been a love and the joy in my life since.

Q. At what point did you begin to make music your career?

I recorded my first song in the studio when I was 15 years old but it wasn’t until he turned 17 and I put out my first single “Friday Night” featuring Sage the Gemini and that was the start of my music career.

Q. What projects of yours have made you the most happy as an artist?

“Last Night” is definitely my favorite so far. I got to be a part of every aspect of it and it just really makes me happy because it’s like my little baby.

Q. What do you think separates you from the rest of the industry?

I stay true to who I am. I’m not putting on a show just to be accepted and I feel like being genuine and hard-working is something that will keep you in this industry for a long time.

Q. Being 19 in this industry can be such an eye opening experience, what have you learned so far? 

Trust the people around you and keep your circle small. You definitely need to have right minded people around you at all times because just one person constantly telling you the wrong things can cause you to go in the wrong direction.

Q. What are your plans for the next year musically?

I have a lot of projects I plan on putting out this year that I’m super excited about and I’m ready for everyone to hear and see. I can’t talk too much on it but It’s a lot so I hope everyone is ready haha.

Q. How did you come up with the concept for your new visual “Last Night”?

I walked into the studio hearing Ali ,the other writer of this song, playing it over and over again and he kept saying last night repeatedly and we just built on it. I tried to think of things that people go through and I feel like one thing that’s relate-able is some people can say that they’ve been in a relationship where they were on and off with the person constantly for whatever reason. This song just represents the independence and their realization of their own worth and saying I’m good by myself, I can do me by myself cause I got my own. The quote I’ve been saying for the longest time and I’ll still be saying even after it’s played out 1000 times for this song is “A Queen without a king is still a QUEEN”

Q. What advice would you give young female artists on the rise?

Stay true to who you are, don’t let the world make you believe you have to be something you aren’t and just believe in yourself 100%. No one will ever believe in you if you don’t first believe in yourself.

Follow her on social media:
@teenearR
Leave a Reply

