Feeding With A Purpose: Prince For Public

Out of all the articles I’ve written, this article was one that I’ve tried to complete for a long time. If you’re not aware of who he is, definitely do some research on this awesome humanitarian. Prince has been donating food and special care packages to the homeless in the city, and recently took his generosity to different states. This movement that he’s created called ‘Prince for Public’ went from an Instagram name to an actually mission. He has joined forces with others determined to help those in need of food and toiletries, and is focused on contributing to them by any means.

Q. Where are you originally from?

I’m originally from Philadelphia.

Q. When did you first develop the idea to help feed the homeless?

I first developed this idea when I was High School. I went to Metropolitan Corporate Academy which is located in Brooklyn, NY. Donovan and I which is a good friend of mine helped this man out one day we bought him food, something to drink and even got him something for later if he got hungry again. So after doing that, I honestly got one of the best feelings in the world. To put a smile on someone’s face after putting something warm in their stomach and having a small conversation with him showing him that he does have a friend. Then after doing my research and realizing that there are over 18 million vacant homes in the U.S. and we still have homeless people out on the street and that just really blew my mind on how the government treats these human beings.

Q. How has your experience feeding the homeless help you develop a sense of purpose?

So living out in N.Y. for a while and seeing how people treat the homeless it really disgusted me to be honest with you. So after graduating High School I continued to help the homeless. I see it as if the people aren’t going to help the people in need and just continue to step over them, give looks of disgust, continue to call them names, etc. Then I’ll be the one to show them different, show them that we aren’t all the same, show them that someone does actually care about them and I decided to take that on. I’ve been doing this for a while now but I decided to make it go public two years ago so that I can bring awareness to the issue and to show how bad the Homeless community is getting.

Q. Is there one moment that sticks out to you from helping?

Even though every moment and every conversation that I’ve had with my friends in the homeless community has all been special to me there is one that always sticks out to me. I believe it was around the time I first made Project Care go public. But I was coming out of class and I was walking to the train station then I saw this man on the corner and he just looked broken down and he’d ask multiple people to help him out and everyone either gave him a dirty look or just ignored him and kept it moving. So I had a care package in my bag and this bag was packed to the brim with hand warmers, water, snacks, etc. It took him a little while to take the bag because he was in disbelief then he took the bag and looked at it like it was gold. He then looked up at me with tears in his eyes and explained how this was first for two weeks because he haven’t had a dime to his name and that really stayed with me through the growth of Project Care. Yeah that experience did bring tears to my eyes as well and we had a little conversation and hugged it out.

 

 

Q. What can others do to help you and your movement?

To help the movement people can always donate goods or even go on to Amazon.com/registry/wishlist/3TMLYKBNJYJ27 and look at my wish list, during the winter I usually collect unworn clothing/jackets/coats so I’ll take that as a donation, or they can always support through http://GoFundMe.com/qbmhcg

Q. Are there small things we can do individually that will go a long way for feeding the homeless?

Yeah most definitely. If you anything as small as a banana or any type of fruit they will appreciate that. If you honestly have nothing to give, a conversation can always go a long way. Yes I know there’s this stereotype of how all people in the homeless community are either crazy, mean, etc. I’m here to tell you that’s false yes some of them do have their days/moments but who doesn’t? We are all human and just like the famous saying you can’t/shouldn’t always judge a book by it’s cover.

Q. What would you want to tell students that would like to get involved in humanitarianism?

In whatever it is that the students would like to get involved with that deals with humanitarianism, whether it’s helping people, animals, the environment, etc. Do your research/read up on what it is you want to do so you can get a better understanding of what it is you are about to get yourself in to. You then can volunteer and look for places either in your neighborhood so you can begin to get the gist of things. I first started out helping and volunteering at soup kitchens, I’ve volunteered at “Gods Love We Deliver” which I still do occasionally.  Don’t ever get discouraged if you’re starting out small, just remember we all have to start from some where. Slow progress is better than no progress. You can always spread awareness by using social media which are  Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. Using social media gives you platform to educate those who have no idea that these things are going on or not know that it still continues. Not everyone will see eye to eye with you or even agree with anything that you’re saying, and that’s another thing that you shouldn’t get discouraged about. Because there will always be someone with the nasty comments, the rude messages, etc. You just keep doing you and just use that as fuel for you to keep moving forward because no one else will see greatness in what you’re doing until you see it. Believe in you and your purpose in doing the Humanitarian work.

Social Media Handle:

Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

