Exclusive Interview + Citi!

Hip hop has always been notorious for its bias towards female artists. Hopefully with a new era, change can be introduced as well. Citi is setting the streets on fire with Pepsi and her debut album Spilled Pineapples. With these tracks, she’s giving listeners and fans a taste of what she’s about.

 

Q. Where are you and where are you from?

Originally from Newark and Union but I’m all over Jersey.

Q. When did you begin rapping?

I began writing music at the age of 7.

Q. What are some of the challenges you face as an artist?

The rap scene is over saturated. Everyone sounds the same, everyone raps now so it’s hard for people to give my music a chance without hearing it first.

Q. What separates you from other artists?

I believe I represent all aspects of myself through my music. I don’t just represent one side of me you know? All areas of my life are explored through music whether it’s heart break or how I felt one night in the club (lol). My music is catchy but it has great substance and I feel substance is what majority of artists lack these days.

Q. Advice to other artists on the same path as you?

Stay focused, trust yourself and God.

Q. Top Inspirations?

Erykah Badu, Nas, Jay Z, J. Cole, Pusha T, Bilal, Musiq Soulchild, Jill Scott, ect.

Social Media Address:

IG: theyloveciti

Twitter: citifrresh

Youtube: PineappleCiti

"Spilled Pineapples"  featuring Hit Singles "Pepsi" "Pepsi Remix feat Dougie F" & "Rose Colored" dropped August 5
Available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal, Youtube & more

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

