Spotlight On: Cookiee Kawaii!

In this male dominated industry it’s common for females to be overlooked, no matter how talented. Cookiee Kawaii’s music is relaxing, sexy and easy to vibe to. She gives sultry tracks for those that want to set the mood or simply tune the world out. Get to know this kindred spirit and about her music.
What’s your name and where are you from?
My name is Cookiee Kawaii & I was born and raised in Irvington NJ & currently reside there.
How long have you been doing music?
Ive been writing poetry since age 11 ..  Im 22 now , but I started making my poems into songs about 3 years ago
.
What challenges do you face as an artist?
The challenges I face as an artist is being different & standing out in the crowd..  there are so many rappers & music artist that you have to push to be different.. you have to fight for originality because there are so many copies & fakes ..
Even down to the company you keep … you have to be alert on who’s there to build & who’s there to take.
I find that the best way to avoid drama and negative energy is to just keep positive vibes around me & try to stay positive.
What makes you different from other artists?
What makes me different from other artist..
I’m different because I strive to get my listeners to feel what I felt in a song.
I want people to relate to my story… when I’m singing my lyrics or rapping a verse .. I put feeling in my music , not just words ..
Its like when you were a kid and grandma put her foot in that sweat potato pie … same concept ..
I’m different because I put my foot in my music .. I try and make sure you feel me or felt how I was feeling. Its always a dope feeling when someone says .. I felt that or you had me feeling like this .. because that’s how I felt when i wrote the song … its a great way to connect.
What advice would you give to other artists on the same path as you?
My advice .. BE YOURSELF … NEVER SETTLE & REACH FOR THE STARS ..
you only have one life and you have to live it … you cant settle for less than greatness .. you have to dream big and set goals and just stay focused on success.. & always be you .
Who are your top Inspirations?
Jill Scott , Queen Latifah, Lauren Hill , Erykah Badu, Kendrick Lamar .
Check out Cookiee’s new mixtape:
Social Media Handles:
Instagram : cookieekawaii
SnapChat : cookieekawaii
Twitter : @cookieekawaii
Leave a Reply

