Shetrepreneurs: Brittnee N. Boone

Blogging is not what it used to be ten years ago, or even five years ago. As the world of social media and entertainment change daily, information must be up to date and accurate. Brittnee N. Boone is a celebrity blogger, and editor in chief of her own blogging site .

Being able to speak with Brittnee and get to know the face behind the site, I found it interesting and also enlightening. Being a female blogger myself, I have always appreciated how positive her posts are. She is a business woman and definitely an inspiration.

Q. How long have you had your own business?

I’ve owned ihatemypublicist.com for 3 years now. I went to school at Delaware State University for broadcast/ journalism. Shortly after I worked in corporate America as a media sales assistant. Two years into that I figured out that working in sales wasn’t for me and I decided to create my own blog. The rest is pretty much history

britt2.jpg

Q. What challenges do you face owning your own business?

Challenges. Hmmm. We would be here all day if I ran down my entire list. Ha! But the biggest challenge that I’ve faced as an entrepreneur was moving myself and my business to a new city. When I started out I was still living at home with my grandmother in Bridgeton, New Jersey so it was very challenging trying to balance my work load as well as trying to settle down in Atlanta. It was even harder because I had very little connections and barely any friends or family to assist me with living arrangements, finding work etc. I literally just went out on a limb. So I salute anyone who is willing to just pick up and leave their hometown to chase their dreams. Anyone can become a star in their city where they have support from family members and individuals they’ve known for years. But try building your brand up in a whole new city where no one knows who you are. It isn’t easy but I believe that with self-motivation and the will to succeed, everything is figureoutable.

Q. What goals do you hope to accomplish within the next year?

Within the next year I intend to be fully self employed and running my second or third business. I’m working on a few different projects that you’ll hear more about when they’re up and running.

Q. What advice would you give young ladies on a similar path as you?

My best advice to any young woman traveling the same path would be to make sure you’re very passionate about the business. You’re going to hear the word no  more than yes but don’t let it discourage you learn a lesson from that no. Figure out why they said no in the first place then get better. If you don’t believe in yourself no one else will and you can’t expect for anyone else to. Always bet on you, be consistent and eventually those same folks who told you no will have no other choice but to tell you yes. And you won’t have to go looking for them they’ll find you.

Q. Top 3 inspirations

If I had to choose 3 people/things that inspire me most it would be Karen Civil (KarenCivil.com), Sabrina Peterson (The Glam University) and every women that has ever sent me an email, text msg and/or dm telling me how much I’ve inspired them. They’re the reason that I keep going, I get up everyday and do what I do for these women.

Social media names/address to find you:

IG/FB: @ihatemypublicist

Twitter: @ih8mypublicist

SC: donthatebrittne

 

Leave a Reply

