Introducing: Mikhala Jene

IMG_8208

I first listened to Mikhala’s music after seeing a snippet from her new remix to ‘Work’. She debuted a clip on her Instagram with her singing the lyrics to Work while ‘Crush on You’ by Lil Kim played in the background. Being a fan of 90s music and it’s dope beats, I loved how she mixed today’s hit song with an old school feel. Famous instagrammers reposted her video non stop and made her face quite popular on the explore page this month, I had to know more about the artist Mikhala.

Growing up in Jacksonville, North Carolina she is definitely a musical force to be reckoned with and her sweet and humble spirit has already made her a fan favorite.

Q. When did you begin singing?
I been singing since I was younger coming up in the church. Feels like I was always in church! My mom was a soloist in the choir and I wanted to be just like her. I used to be very shy back then and most of the time I would only sing in the comfort of my bedroom. When I was 14 I dreamt of God telling me to stop being afraid and to share my gift. After this I got the courage I needed and lead my first solo at church. The overwhelming response from my church family gave me confirmation that singing was absolutely what I was meant to do. I then began writing and recording my own songs shortly afterwards and I was introduced to an Atlanta rapper named Q Machette who believed in me and introduced me to Roc Nation Producer Deputy ( Rihanna “Bitch Better Have My Money,”  J.Cole, Wale, Neyo, etc).  Dep saw my potential and took me under his wing. He mentored me and developed my talent as an artist and songwriter. Eventually I made the move to LA where we worked on my debut EP titled “The Prelude.”
Q. What are some of the challenges you face as an artist?
Staying true to who you are and not conforming for attention is probably the most challenging. You just have to remind yourself every day why you do it and what you do it for. Another challenge is people’s need to place you in a category or a box as an artist. Growing up I never really fit in into any particular category. I have many layers and juxtaposing facets to my personality. Yes I’m a “church girl”, but I swear like a sailor. I’m reserved, but I like to dress sexy. Inspirational, but I’m also dark and morbid. I’m a little bit of everything on the inside and so trying to put me in a box just doesn’t work. As a woman, none of us are and can be one dimensional. Chaka Khan said it best, “I’m Every Woman!”
Q. Where do you see yourself in the next year?
In the next year I see myself putting out another project, building more fans, touring and spreading my music to as many people as possible. I just want to grow and learn even more about myself and my journey that I can share with others.
Q. Advice to other artists on the same path as you?
If I had to offer advice to aspiring artists I’d say to strive to make music that resonates with people. Be true and perfect your craft, your message and your delivery and someone will be able to relate to you.
Q. Top inspirations?
My number one inspiration is my mother. She’s everything I hope to be as a woman someday. Mariah Carey and  Whitney Houston also inspire me a great deal. I still sit and cry to their songs. They’re musical legends and that’s what I hope to be someday.

 

Check her out!

 

Leave a Reply

