Is Your Major “Right” For You?

tumblr_nvovag4O151uy0qcco1_1280

College students these days tend to fret and panic about making the right choice for a major. I have friends that changed majors constantly and still don’t feel content. Why?

Possibly because we aren’t informed enough about the purpose of minors, and the use of our skills. The best example I can provide is myself. I went to college with the mindset that I was going to be a Business major, strictly Business and possibly minor in Leadership.

That was the plan and I couldn’t see anything changing that…UNTIL. One day I realized I had a serious niche for writing and journalism. Not only that but I’m HUGE on networking and love speaking with people. Professors would ask me repeatedly, “Are you sure Business is something you want to pursue?”, and I would always reply: “Yes, that’s all I’ve wanted to do since the age of 12.”
I always researched professionals in my major and reached out to several, because I was THAT passionate about my career. Family, professors and friends warned me that my mind could change but I ignored it honestly, and figured that Business was my passion.
Well, fast forward, I’m now a Business major and Communications minor. How? I trusted my gut and did my research. College students often feel obligated to stick to a major because they aren’t well informed about minors. When you like a certain field of study but also have an interest in another, take up both a major and minor. Being that I love to speak to others whether its regarding opportunities or simply to inform them of current events, Communications play a vital role in my day to day. Luckily for me, it also ties into my major in several ways.
As it was said on bestvaluesschools.org, “There’s no doubt that declaring a college minor can enhance your resume and make you a more marketable job candidate once you begin applying for positions. In many cases, employers are looking for employees who specialize within a specific sector, and they are often willing to pay such individuals more than the base level annual salary generally offered. The key to making the most of this opportunity is to do background research regarding the field that you’re interested in and choose your minor accordingly.”
My 2 Cents: Declaring a minor enhances your knowledge of a study you have interest in and enhances your resume. If you ever feel confused and not sure whether or not a major is for you, DO YOUR RESEARCH and see if a major may be better as a minor or vice versa.

 

Check out this site for more info if you find yourself undecided on the importance of a minor.

Choosing a minor

Leave a Reply

